Hise joins NC Senate budget panel, Daniel co-leads finance

Veteran western North Carolina Republican legislators have filled chairmanship vacancies on the Senate’s two most influential committees, chamber leader Phil Berger announced on Thursday as he unveiled committee assignments.

Sen. Ralph Hise of Mitchell County will now join Sens. Brent Jackson and Kathy Harrington as co-chairs of the Senate Appropriations Committee. And Sen. Warren Daniel of Burke County is a new Senate Finance Committee chairman, a news release said.

Other finance co-chairs will be Sen. Paul Newton as well as Sen. Bill Rabon, who returns to a post he held in the mid-2010s. Rabon also will remain chairman